Arctic Council Ministerial

20 May 2021, Reykjavik, Iceland

The 12th Ministerial meeting of the Arctic Council marked the end of the two-year Icelandic Chairmanship term. The meeting was held on 20th May 2021 in Reykjavik, Iceland. It provided an opportunity to review the Council’s activities and accomplishments under Iceland’s Chairmanship, and sees the Russian Federation assume the role for the next two years.

Media contact

Kristina Bär
Head of Communications
+47 91 12 03 70


Media registration | Background information | Photos | Videos | Twitter

Photos of the Ministerial meeting for editorial use are available on the Flickr account of the Icelandic Ministry for Foreign Affairs and the recording of the meeting and press conference as well as b-roll are available on the Vimeo account of the Icelandic Ministry for Foreign Affairs.

The outgoing and incoming Chairs of the Arctic Council. Minister Guðlaugur Þór Þórðarson handed the gavel, the symbol of the Arctic Council Chairmanship, to Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov for the Russian Chairmanship of the Arctic Council (2021-2023).

Latest news

Arctic Council Foreign Ministers sign the Reykjavik Declaration, adopt the Council’s first Strategic Plan and pass the Chairmanship from Iceland to the Russian Federation

The Arctic States reaffirmed the Council’s commitment to maintain a peaceful, prosperous and sustainable Arctic region during the Arctic Council Ministerial meeting – the...
20 May 2021

12th Arctic Council Ministerial meeting convenes in Reykjavík

The meeting will further cooperation among Arctic States and Indigenous Permanent Participants, and mark the end of the Icelandic Chairmanship and beginning of the Russia...
10 May 2021

Sneak peek into the new work of the Arctic Council – A briefing series

Be one of the first to learn about the latest reports, assessments and activities from the Council’s Working Groups on the topics of climate change, Arctic shipping, huma...
06 May 2021
See all

Watch the Ministerial here

Arctic Council quick facts